lookimg for a new cartridge in a gun

If you have a 257...I'd go 30 cal or 338...easy...28 is a hammer but get a 33 Nosler, or a 338 Norma...it will be a step up...but of the ones mentioned I'd go 28

Last edited:
I am trying to pick between a 6.5-300, 27 nosler, and a 28 nosler. Looking for a flat round that can take just about any game in North America. What are the advantages and disadvantages? Mostly will be white tail which is a bit over kill but also want a Elk gun, bear or whatever else I may get a chance to hunt. Currently I can shoot out to about 400 yards, I'm no ballistics expert so that is why I chose a flat high SD round. Hopefully will learn to reload in the coming weeks so I can make my own. Also, not wanting to go crazy on the rifle spend maybe $2,000 plus the optic. Any help is appreciated.
Of your choices 28 nosler or 7mm

I am trying to pick between a 6.5-300, 27 nosler, and a 28 nosler. Looking for a flat round that can take just about any game in North America. What are the advantages and disadvantages? Mostly will be white tail which is a bit over kill but also want a Elk gun, bear or whatever else I may get a chance to hunt. Currently I can shoot out to about 400 yards, I'm no ballistics expert so that is why I chose a flat high SD round. Hopefully will learn to reload in the coming weeks so I can make my own. Also, not wanting to go crazy on the rifle spend maybe $2,000 plus the optic. Any help is appreciated.
.350 Remington Mag

most all you have said as far as animals they have been killed with a 243 but not a good idea for ease of getting ammo any place in the worls a 300 win mag

8mm rem mag, if you like stuff that is hard to find but a absolute hammer. I just ordered a 30-378wby reamer so if you want to make bad decisions like me, it fits the bill of all NA Game.