Long Range Shooting Instructor

Hudge

I'm new to long-range shooting, but after shooting rounds this past week to 500 yards, I'm hooked. I'm interested in learning to shoot out to 1000 yards. I know I'm a ways away from being able to do that, but I was wondering if anyone could recommend an instructor near the DFW area? I've seen the training classes at Tiger Valley in Waco, but they seem like they're more than one day. I'd like to find someone local who could do shorter classes, more frequently. Does anyone have a recommendation of a facility or class that might be a fit?

Thanks in advance for your help.

I do not know anyone in your area, that being said I can give you a few pointers. One pretty good read is the AMU Rifle book, there are actually a few, but you can find the most current at CMP for pretty reasonable.

If you do not have a .22LR, I would highly advise you get one sir. The good old 22lr is an awesome way to learn elevation and windage. One of the first things to work on is setting up some Good Flags, and learning to Read Them! Work on wind reading with those flags, and also work on learning to read mirage. Begin this with a .22lr, trust me! I know it is not glamorous, but that 22lr will teach you the basics without beating you up, without breaking your bank account, and it will allow you to get *A BLOODY LOT LOT LOT* of Trigger Time. Once you can reliably hit 2" or so targets at 100 to 150 yards with some wind using your .22lr, then it is likely time to move up to something like a .223 or a 308win out at around 300 to 500 yards and once again begin working on wind reading and mirage.

I would personally advise getting a 10x or 16x SWFA super sniper scope and learn to use the Mil Reticle. Some folks say "too old school", but trust me, once you learn that basic bit of math and how to range, how to use your knobs, you are MILES ahead of the average joe who might shoot 20 rounds of ammo a year hunting.