long range gear/rifle suggestions

Russ M

i am new to long range shooting and i am looking for tips on gear and technique
i have a remington model 700 xcr chambered in .338 winmag (it came with remingtons new mark x trigger), leupold mark 4 8.5-25x50mm, leupold mark4 rings and bases, stoneridge pivot bi pod
i have on order a mcmillan a5 stock and a leuopold rxb-IV
i plan on geting a kestrel 4500 weather meter, a bushnell spoting scope (for cost reasons), and a tripod for the spoting scope
i was planing on shooting 225gr nosler accubond

my goal is to get reliable at 1000 yards
curently i can shoot 1' group off hand at 250 yards
i have also been practising with a 22 at about 50-100 yards
any tips or sugestions would be greatly appreciated

Not to offend here, but nobody shoots 1' groups offhand at 250 repeatably.

We'd need more info on what you are looking to do with your shooting...targets, hunting, max range to hunt, etc etc. That will make a difference.

.338 WinMag is usable though there are much better cartridges for most long-range applications.

just to make sure you understad what i was writing there that is 1 foot not 1 inch i have a 1 foot by 1 foot target that i put out there at 250 yrds and once i have sited in my rifle i can hit it off hand with out any trouble
i am not looking to be able to get past 250 yards off hand i think that is un reasonable what i would like to do is off of rests (such as a bi pod or the polecat tripod with tagalog arm if you don't know what that is it by stoneypiont)be cabable of moa groups to a 1000 yrds