long range elk pistol question

coloradoultramag

I am new to the long range pistol game. I hunt deep in roadless areas so a lightweight 7wssm shooting a 168 berger might be a good setup. Much of my shooting is 400 to 600 yards is that too far for a specialty pistol as far as knock down power? I do have a nightforce nxs 5-22 but I don't know if it would work on a pistol?

What does a striker or a remington with a 17inch barrel weigh not counting scope?

What speed could a 7wsm shot a 168vld?

What is a striker or remmy going to cost?

Would you guys recomend a different gun or a different caliber?

Is there a faster 7mm that would give me more range?

The encores don't have the guts to handle the 7wsm or similar cartridges does it?

Would I have to go semi custom or full custom to make the above gun?

Thanks for all the advice and stories on this forum, Gabe

I'm not a expert in this field but i can give you some ans to some questions. You need to figure about 200-300fps less than what a rifle will get in your pistol caliber. I dont think the 7wssm would be the best for this rig, more like a 7wsm or 7 Dakota. 18" barrel to give better results. You will have to go with a custom rig or some kind of re build to get what your looking for. I would go with a custom and get exactly what you want the first time. Depending on barrel contour is where the weight will vary. I'm sure some of the others will chime in on what their rigs weigh.
My 30BTAC varmint pistol is 14# with a Nightforce 8-32x scope, so that ans your other question,
yes the 5-22 would be a fine scope for your build. My pistol is set up for bench or prone shooting, not carrying around the woods. I have a 20" barrel on mine.