load for a 300 win mag to shoot 1000 yards

muttly64

Hi I am new to the 1000 yard shooting with 300 win mags and I would like to know what load would be best and the speed I would be looking at and projectile. I have shot out to 600 yards frequently but would like to try the 1000 yard mark.
Can any one help ?
gun):)

Hi I am new to the 1000 yard shooting with 300 win mags and I would like to know what load would be best and the speed I would be looking at and projectile. I have shot out to 600 yards frequently but would like to try the 1000 yard mark.
Can any one help ?

Welcome.:D
You can try a few powders, but no matter what anybody recommends, only your rifle will tell you what it likes. 3 powders come to mind, H1000 (2217), RE22 and RE25. Bullets, I use 200gr Nosler Accubonds, have tried SMK's, A-Max's and if I can get them again, 215gr Hybrid Bergers. The Accubonds are by far the most accurate in my rifle. I get around 3100fps in my 28" barrel.
Where are you going to be shooting?
I'm originally from Maryborough, so know a few ranges out that way.

Cheers.
gun)

Thanks magnummaniac. I have a lot of properties where I can shoot out to about 1500. I don't know of any ranges where I can shoot 1000 around ballarat.
Do you have a preference in brass and primers.
Thanks again.

Tried 180gr Remington this morning. Shot jagged pin hole at 200yards. Question is it worth reloading and would these shoot 1000 yards

I prefer Lapua brass, but they don't make it anymore, I bought lots several years ago.
Norma is the best, IMHO, but Remington or Winchester brass is very good as long as you prep it correctly and sort it for capacity. I also anneal after the fireforming shot, then anneal every other firing. 1000yrds is critical to have a very consistent load with low ES and SD.
Depending on bullet weight, 2900fps-3100fps is what you need, but it HAS to be uniform in velocity.