Load data 7mm rem mag

bearrug

I was wondering if someone could give me the load data for Hornady 162 gr btsp interlock bullet using reloader 22 and H 1000 powder Thanks.

Can't give any experience with those powders but I shot that bullet for several years with IMR 4831, don't remember the load off the top of my head since I switched to a berger, but it shot well. Also loaded it with 72 grs of retumbo and had great luck with it!

Hi bearrug,

I have no experience using 162 grain bullets. I do have experience with 160 grain Partitions. I'd tend to doubt that 2 grains bullet weight differential is going to cause skewed data.

I've experimented with RL-22 with 160 grain bullets. While many won't believe it, I did chrono one load at just over 3200 FPS. However, it wasn't as accurate as the load I've developed using H-4831. That load travels at just over 3100 FPS.

Here's what I'd do: I'd begin a few grains or more below max load. I'd increase until I got best accuracy. If RL-22 wouldn't work, I'd try another powder.

BTW, RL-22 is Norma MRP powder, which is an excellent powder.

Having hunting with a 7MM Rem Mag for more years than I can remember, I'm learned a thing or two. Most importantly, within reason, velocity is not as important as accuracy. A bullet traveling at the speed of light is useless if a hunter can't hit squat with it.

I'm not sure where you hunt; I hunt the Rockies exclusively. Under perfect conditions, my maximum shooting range is 400 yards. So I don't need blazing velocity. I need accuracy.

I'm darn near at my reality that the 150 grain 7MM Rem Mag bullet might just be the best for hunting all North American big game except the largest bears. Were I to hunt griz, I'd use a 175 grain Partition. But for everything else, a 150 grain bullet might just be best for me.

Hi bearrug,