light muzzle loader load for a young kid

Merf45

Hello im new to the sight would like any input yall have for loads for young kids. My neighbor got his son a youth mzzle loader for Christmas i think its a Rossi and we was wanting some info to get him started i think he is 7 he shot his first deer this year with my daughters 7-08. Thanks for any input yall might have.

I have a couple youths shooting muzzleloader, and it not too much different than rifle......the heavier the bullet, the more it kicks! Im not sure what caliber he has, but the below is in a 50 cal. I shoot bore diameter maxi balls, and heavy hard cast 45-70 bullets in sabots but it's a bit much for the youngins. When starting them out plinking, I ran a light 45 acp pistol bullet. (185 grain) in a Harvester sabot. I can't off hand remember the charge of Triple 7, but we started low and worked up to accuracy......My brain wants to say 80 grains of powder???? I think think the noise, flash and smoke gets to them about as much as the recoil........Good luck!

I have a couple youths shooting muzzleloader, and it not too much different than rifle......the heavier the bullet, the more it kicks! Im not sure what caliber he has, but the below is in a 50 cal. I shoot bore diameter maxi balls, and heavy hard cast 45-70 bullets in sabots but it's a bit much for the youngins. When starting them out plinking, I ran a light 45 acp pistol bullet. (185 grain) in a Harvester sabot. I can't off hand remember the charge of Triple 7, but we started low and worked up to accuracy......My brain wants to say 80 grains of powder???? I think think the noise, flash and smoke gets to them about as much as the recoil........Good luck!
Thanks I found some 200 grns that i had laying around we will try that