Leupold VX-3i 4.5-14x40mm CDS SF elevation turret question

Discussion in 'Long Range Scopes and Other Optics' started by squeeeeze, Jul 10, 2018.

  1. squeeeeze

    squeeeeze Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    153
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Just received my VX-3i 4.5-14x40mm w/ 30mm tube CDS SF windplex #170702 when I got home this morning. I bought it so I could dial for distance. Upon adjusting the CDS elevation Turret all the way up and back down there are not only no number markers under turret on the post to show amount of revolutions but the top of turret to the bottom of scope measures the same height with elevation all the way up or down. The turret is not gaining elevation but it's erectors are clicking so must be adjusting.

    How am I supposed to dial for elevation, know how many revolutions I am at, or return to zero? All my other Leopold's (and other scopes) with turrets have revolutions marked so I know where I am at. Am I missing something here?
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2018
  2. manitou

    manitou Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    117
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    That is normal for the VX3i. You just have to be wary and count. You cannot dial more than one revolution with that cds turret on a VX3i.
    My .280 will go to 750 yds within the one revolution with the VX3i. My other .280 wears a VX5 HD which will allow multiple revolutions.
     
  3. squeeeeze

    squeeeeze Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    153
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Ouch, that would have been a deal breaker for me, had a few other lightweight scopes in mind made to dial I was considering. Just to verify we're talking about the same CDS turret I've pictured it. It's odd they'd have 100 MOA and not be able to utilize it.

    I'll give them a call and see what they say, or any way to make it a zero stop or some kind of indicators.

    Thank you for chiming in.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 11, 2018
  4. Champ25

    Champ25 Member

    Messages:
    15
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Just to be sure. Have you sent leupold your ballistic info for your CDS dial??
     
  5. squeeeeze

    squeeeeze Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    153
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    No I haven’t, just got the scope but would have to shoot the gun after load is built and actually verify the drops so they’ll be accurate, plus I haven’t even shot the gun yet.

    Leupold is closed today for some reason so I can’t talk to them after all. Ive just found someone talking about a “1 turn” cds ballistic turret Leupold makes that has a stop but only turns 1 revolution. Otherwise there is no way to stop it or have any idea where you’re at revolution wise. Not real happy about this.
     
  6. The Oregonian

    The Oregonian Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    727
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Is this advertised or known about the scope? If so, shows that research and seeing in person are a very important part of the purchase process.

    Can you return the scope?
     
  7. squeeeeze

    squeeeeze Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    153
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    I don’t think it’s advertised or really states it anywhere that I’ve seen or has stood out to me. Says nothing at all about this in the instructions. I’ve been looking at them for some time and have never read about this. It took me a few hours today searching specifically for this problem to even find out this info.

    Thought I did plenty of research before this, but was never mentioned or brought up when talking to clerks at stores or looking online.

    I can’t return it since I’ve opened the box. Beyond disappointed at this point. May just have to try and sell and buy something else.
     
  8. Weatherby Fan

    Weatherby Fan Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    152
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Yes you are correct in your findings that if you want to use it as an MOA dial after zeroing it won't zero stop and you must keep track of the clicks, once zeroed you can adjust the dial to zero but its still easy to bump or get turned in either direction,

    I was all pissy when I found this out also.........but when you order the CDS dial for your specific load it will stop at your desired zero you order it with.
     
  9. BULLBLASTER

    BULLBLASTER Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    96
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    You could also get a moa marked zerostop turret cap. It will give almost one complete revolution but be marked in moa instead of custom Bdc
     
  10. The Oregonian

    The Oregonian Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    727
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Leupold has great customer service...if you tell them what happened and that it is opened but never used they may work with you. They may not, but you never know unless you ask.

    I used to love 15 mins from their HQ and whenever I went by there they were helpful. Some binos broke and they gave me their top of the line bc they didn’t have mine in stock and a hunting trip was coming up. My originals were about $150 and the ones they gave me were $550 or so.
     
  11. 26Reload

    26Reload Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    572
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Get in touch with leupold.....
     
  12. squeeeeze

    squeeeeze Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    153
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Thanks for all the responses, yes I was all pissy too and couldn’t Understand wtf was going on and what I was missing. Seems downright ridiculous to have a scope with 100 moa and a turret but not be able to keep track of revoloutions. Getting the bdc turret w/zero stop but less than 15 moa elevation (1 turn) to dial on a 100moa scope is pointless for me.

    The gun will get slid in and out of tight soft gun cases, backpack scabbards, and going through brush or any other unwanted contact. I’ve looked down and had turrets almost a have a turn off at times, but with either a zero stop or micrometer style markings I know immediately and know right where to dial back to so not too much of an issue.

    I hadn’t even planned on getting the bdc turret since it’s already marked moa as I just use moa and use my app or drop charts. I hunt from 1000’ elevation up to 10,000’ so not real helpful. The only bdc dial I’ve got was a Kenton turret for a Zeiss scope and the yardage’s were so far off it was unuseable and said I’d never bother again. I gave them all the correct information as far as temp, elevation, speed, etc...., but their program was completely different than actual in the field drops.

    Another scope I was considering was the VX-5 3-15x44. I was trying to save weight and was a little more than 4oz and seemed the VX-3i was everything I needed weight wise, adjustment, and low/compact. The VX-5 only has 2 revolutions after the zero stop but at 20 moa per turn, 40 total I could definitely live with.

    I’ll give Leupold a call today and see what they say but don’t think this scope will work for me out here in the West. Ok last rant completed lol.
     
  13. squeeeeze

    squeeeeze Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    153
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Well I just got off the phone with Leupold. I explained the issues with this scope. He explained that it has no markings per revoloution and that when I got the bdc turret it would have a zero stop but be limited to 14 Moa. I let him know I needed more than 14 moa and he went on to lecture me that was beyond ethical hunting distances, without even asking me what I was using this scope for and how far I’ll shoot at game. WOW, great customer service lol.

    Their VX-5 and 6 have two revoloutions at 20 moa per and all their other turrets like the m1 with micrometer markings, tall target turrets, LRP, etc can be tracked. So I guess ethical hunting distances depends on what scope you run? I like to shoot steel, and other items at distances to practice and hone skills as do a lot of others on here and don’t want to be limited to 14moa and be able to track rotations.

    I told him I was unhappy with this and it was stated nowhere in the online PDF instructions nor anywhere on their website. He basically said this is info I should have known before purchasing. I guess it’s shame on me.

    He said they will not take the scope back, nor offer me a trade in and I’d have to go through my retailer. I let him know the retailer wouldn’t take it back because it’s now opened. I had to open the box to find out the issues since it’s not common knowledge. He told me I could buy another scope from them though.

    So now I’m stuck with a scope that won’t work for me. I never would have purchased if I would have known this. Now I guess I have a scope for sale, and will have to purchase another. I can guarantee it won’t be a Leupold!

    I guess great customer service isn’t so great in this case after all.
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2018
  14. The Oregonian

    The Oregonian Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    727
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    I get his unwillingness to take them back but it would have a way to win a customer if he had. I have found that customer service can be very different based on whether you get someone sympathetic to your plight - which this guy wasn’t based on the ethical comment.

    I would say call back tomorrow and talk to someone else - and fall on your sword if you didn’t already and see if they can help you. Tell them you would like to get another Lwupold if they are willing to work with you.

    Not saying you brought this on yourself with th rep, just saying what has worked for me. And if the new person brings up ethical, throw the 40 MOA on the 5/6 on him (nicely :))