Leupold mounting advise

wingman

Hello all, i have on order a 6.5-20x40 LR VX-III. It has 30mm tube. Will be mounted on my 700 .300 RUM i shoot 185 gr Bergers with 94.5 gr of Retumbo. Right now i have a nikon buckmaster on it and it will shoot .5 MOA @ 350. I am going to get a turret from Leupold as well. My question is this.. is it possible to get 1000yds out of this set up with one turn of the turret? If so what do i need for mounting hardware? I had planned on the Burris Signature rings with the inserts to maybe get more MOA out of the scope, but do i need a 30 or 40 MOA base as well?? Any advise will be greatly appreciated! thanks!

You will need 20 MOA to reach 1000 with that set-up (give or take a few clicks). Your scope has 15 MOA per rotation, so you will be in the vicinity of 850 yards with a single rotation. This is with a 200 yard zero ( a 300 yard zero won't quite get you there either). Your specific velocity and altitude will dictate what you actually need.

The scope has 90 MOA of total adjustment, so you should end up with enough "up" to get you to 1000 yards, but Remingtons sometimes zero closer to the upper end so a 20 MOA base might be a good idea. Theres no real drawbacks to using one.

I do a lot of dials for the 300 RUM w/VLDs and they are always within a few clicks up or down of 1000 with one rotation of our scope (20 MOA).
Medium rings should do the trick, but if you have a stock with a high comb, you may find that high rings line up your eye with the scope more naturally.