Les Baer .223

While I have no experience with the Baer .223's, I have to say I think they're probably somewhat overpriced compared to the other options out there. I realize they're custom from one end to the other, but I shoot a Rock River Arms Varmint model, and can shoot 1/4" 5 shot groups at 125 yds at a savings of around $1300, if the Baer prices I've seen are correct. Bushmaster also make s a real good AR in Varmint configuration, so take it for what it's worth, but I can't justify the extra outlay in cash that can be applied to good optics, dies, powder, bullets and so on. Email me if you need some more info, B

I think I'd have to second that. I'm no expert w/ AR rifles, but I have had several. W/ proper handloads, all would shoot sub-minute, and most would shoot sub half-inch groups. Even the stubby little 16" carbines. Pretty much factory guns, w/ a Jewell trigger added in the mix. The claims that Les Baer makes for their guns are not really a stretch. About any custom AR smith like White Oak Precision (John Holliger), Accuracy Speaks (Derrick Martin), Compass Lake Precision (Frank White), or Alber Turner will build you a top of the line, no-holds-barred custom AR for *less*, certainly probably not any more (unless you're asking for some weird features) than Les Baer. Plus, these guys have been in the AR 'industry' for quite a while. They didn't hop on the bandwagon after it became profitable. Most of them either specialize in Service/Match rifles, or ARs in particular. A rather demanding clientele to say the least.