Lee collet dies

linksmechanic

I've been reloading for quite a few years now with redding bushing and standard dies. I'm using a t7 press and decided to buy some collet dies for the girlfriend's .243. I set them up to there instructions and it doesn't seem right. I'm using the neck sizing die. Anybody set these up that knows the proper way?

What doesn't seem right?

I just screw them in until they touch the shell holder, then I turn them in about 2 more turns (this is so the collet will work). As long as I'm getting enough neck tension, then I'm happy.

AJ

Last edited:
I have found that I can't screw them in as far as the instructions recommend without crushing cases. I start at one turn past the shell holder, then bump it in slowly until I get the neck tension I'm looking for. I am using a Rock Crusher press.

I always install a locking nut (Hornady) so once I find a setting I like, I can lock it down. Once you have that, your good to go the next time.

The Collet is the best neck die for factory rifles made today, IMHO. It does have a moving part so some folks have difficulty with it. :D

Disregard the instructions. Put a case in the ram and push it up, repeatedly, while slowly turning the die down a small fraction of a turn at a time. When you get the proper neck tension to hold a bullet, takes about 20# of lever pressure, depending on what press you have, you're done. Further pushing will do nothing more to the neck but you can damage the die by excess pushing and striping the aluminum top cap out. (It's made to do that to prevent the ham-fisted among us from damaging their press!)

Understand Lee's collet die DOES NOT produce the tight neck-to-bullet fit a conventional size die does. That's to prevent us from bending a straight neck with excessive seating force, which is a common occurance with conventional sizing dies that are frequently excessively smaller than bullet diameter.