Learning to chamber

[QUOTE="birdiemc, post: 1597782, mem
It's not practical for me to take off a week and fly across the country for a gunsmithing course. And I have no community college opportunities nearby offering machinst or gunsmithing courses so I've decided to try the self taught method. I have no intention of becoming a gunsmith and working on other peoples rifles. I just like the thought of doing it all myself.[/QUOTE]
There are 4 NRA affiliated schools that run Summer Gunsmithing courses. There is Murry State in Oklahoma, Trinidad State Jr. College in Colorado, Lassen Community College in California and Montgomery Community College in North Carolina. All have "prerequisites" for admission into their threading/chambering classes. And, that would just be a threading/chambering/crowning class of a week long. A gunsmithing 'course' takes 2 yrs or longer. A lot gets 'crammed' into a 2yr course. Those who aren't real serious can easily get left behind with the required work.

+1 on the stock work. Took me way longer to fit and finish a black MPI stock than to do machining. I have the "Nack" for self learning and machining before I started gun work. I had to sell my small lathe and get a bigger one for guns. I recently looked at my local CC for machining classes and they are 4 nights a week for 4 hours a day for 3 months. Don't have time to do that and I already get great results.

You'll need to practice some how. You can find all you need on the interweb, book, and videos to get the job done. But it will take quite a while to learn the skills required if you are starting from scratch. You can order cheap barrel blanks and practice on those for not much cost. Reamers cost twice as much as cheap blanks.

If this sounds like something you want to do and money is no object, go for it.