LD hunting with the 3006 and the 210 gr Berger VLD

nimrodtracy

I am new to LD Hunting. What do you guys think about the 3006 with the 210 Berger VLD for Deer to Elk out to 1000 yards?

Thanks

Tracy

IMHO the 210 out of the 06 isnt the best choice for elk at 1K or even deer at 1K. The Berger has a fairly high minimum impact velocity requirment. You cannot get the 210 fast enough to get good results at 1K. The numbers just are not there.

The 06 is marginal at best for a 1K elk rifle whatever the bullet choice. It can be a decent deer round WITH the right bullets at the right velocity.

If you absolutely had to use the 06 at 1k for either, I would look at the game kings from sierra. They have a lower impact velocity requirement (1500 FPS) as apposed to 1800-2000 FPS for most other bullets. The 200 has a good BC and sectional density.

The 210 VLD is not the solution.

I am new to LD Hunting. What do you guys think about the 3006 with the 210 Berger VLD for Deer to Elk out to 1000 yards?

Thanks

Tracy

I have killed a lot of deer and elk with a 06 and as Michael says above the 210 VLD is not the way to go. The 06 does not have the horsepower to shove that much weight fast enough for good performance. The 150 to 180gr bullets are the way to go. I just started to use the 168gr Berger VLD and think it will work out well. I used the 150 and 165gr Hornady Spire Point for years and will vouch that they are excellent bullets for putting game down at reasonable ranges.

In my opinion the 30-06 is not a 1000 yard hunting rifle for deer or elk no matter what the bullet choice.