Lathe and Mill Recomendations??

I have been doing rebarreling since 2000.

I am on my 4th lathe, a Precision Mathews 1236, that I have modified the DRO and other things. It cost $4k in 2009 from Machine tool on line
PM1340GT Gunsmith's High Precision Metal Lathe

I am on my 2nd Mill, a used 1969 Bridgeport from Ebay that cost me $10k and $2k shipping in 2015.

I am still on my first wife, I married her in 1976. I met her in an electrical engineering lab. The engagement set of rings cost me $1100.

I guess the point I was trying to make is that starting with the 60k investment, one could get into making custom rifles and receivers and having the equipment working for you, instead of being relatively limited by what you can do with all manual equipment. In my neck of the woods, gunsmiths seem to be a dying breed. The prices being charged and lead time expectations are such that it is cheaper and faster to buy a custom rifle from someone who is equipped with CNC capability like Pierce, than to accurize a Rem 700 action at a local smith.

If you are going to make your living doing machining and gun smithing, yes I would recommend any of those big machines.

For the hobby guy doing his own. Not so much. It's space and budget. Oh and yes, what will happen when you are no longer there to turn on the power. Sad thought for all of us, however, I'm a realist.

Patience and practice on the small machines will enable you to make anything.

With a Sherline CNC conversion of my own work, I was holding .01MM for electric motor parts for micro radio control planes. That was 12+ years ago.

With a great deal of care and tuning. I have my PM1127VF holding .0005 for 2" unsupported Aluminum, 303 Stainless and barrel stock from a decommed 1903A3.