Laser rangefinder options????

What are the options other than the leica or the swaro?? I keep hearing about a "russian submarine rangefinder" but they are hard to find and not eyesafe which makes them illegal. were can a guy find one of these, i heard they range to 12 miles

I personally like the Nikon Monarch 800. I think that it is a great all around rangefinder for not a lot of money.

+1 on the nikon. I have an older buckmaster 800 and a new Leica 1200 and I've looked through the nikon monarch 1200. I feel the ranging ability is very comparable between the leica and the new nikon. The leica has much better glass however.

Will the Nikon get you to 1K under very bright sunny days in the Desert? I known that the Leica will not.. The Swarovski will.. Any others?

The Bushnell Arc 1500 is great for the money but my Swarovski will range to 1998 yards. Either go farther than I care to shoot at game. The 800 yard models i have tried including the Nikon and Lieca rarely would approach 800 on anything but the most reflective surfaces.

I wouldn't fool with a lazer that wasn't eyesafe. You might be seeing permanent spots for the rest of your life by just one good reflection. Some things are just not worth it.

I picked up a Bushnell 1500ARC recently and have been carrying it around trying it on the longest views I can find. On bright sunny days I can fairly easily get to 1000 on a round hay bail or cow. Under perfect conditions I have gotten it to 1600 yards. A tree or rock out to 7-900 yards is easy under any reasonable conditions.

What about the X20 laser rangefinder? Never used one myself, but it looks identical to the model John Burns used on Best of the West. Website (x20 long range laser rangefinder) says it will range to 2,200 meters with accuracy of +/- 1m. Not something you can just stuff in your pocket: weighs 2.2 lbs and is 6 X 2.5 X 5 inches.

Just curious if anyone knew anything about 'em or had used one. Not cheap, by the way - $1,679.