Laminate Stock Repair

A whole lotta overcomplicating in some of the above methinks...
I don't believe dowels, biscuits, or any complicated shiznit is needed. It'll only make perfect alignment more difficult.
Line up the parts, pre-drill with correct size bit for some skinny #6 long screws.
West System epoxy, lightly heat both parts to warm them up and brush on epoxy. Apply more LIGHT heat- too hot and you'll kick-off the epoxy. A little heat reduces the viscosity of the epoxy and allows it to penetrate into the laminate (like Git-Rot for you boaters).

After that, I'd mix another small batch of epoxy with some 406 colloidal silica to thicken it up/fill any gaps and add strength to the joint. Join the parts, lightly tighten the screws (you don't want it all to squeeze out- leave a thin layer for strength) and let it cure.

The epoxy joint will be stronger than the wood.

I come from a family of woodworkers, carpenters, and furniture makers. Plus, I'm a structural engineer. I have built and repaired gun stocks and expensive guitars for many years. For your wood laminate stock butt repair, to replace the 2 in. you cut off the end, a very strong fix would be to use 1-hour epoxy in a snugly clamped configuration. Use 2 long clamps, one on each side. Do Not over tighten. Wipe off excess epoxy. Once epoxy is dried & cured, clean and sand glue line area. Mark and drill Holes for butt pad. Then also drill, countersink, and attach 2-3in construction screws (or deck screws) to reinforce butt bond joint. Drilled hole should be 3/32in., or half screw diameter. Sand with-the-grain with 240, then 400 grit sandpaper; Then clean and finish with tung oil, or finish of your choice. Best of luck!

Not knowing what type of rifle I would recommend going to Boyds and seeing if they have new stock they are fairly reasonable, they do make an At-One laminate fully adjustable stock that fits a lot of rifles.