Ladder test results

Terrytin

DA4B03DF-49EE-4756-AF51-69C9888EF916.jpeg
I am new to long range shooting and reloading. I am currently trying to find the best load using a ladder test method. I have read numerous forums as to how to go about it but need all the experts to chime in and tell me if I'm on the right track.
I shoot a Rem 700 long range 300 WM with a 24" 1x10" Proof barrel, H1000, Nosler Accubond LR 190 grain bullets. I tried a ladder test at 400 yds (max our range has) but the mirage was bad enough I couldn't see the holes, and there was enough shooting going on besides me, I just couldn't go down after every shot, so I just got done with a 300 yard test. Here is a picture of the test. I started at 75.4 with .2 grain increments up to 77.2 I know everyone says to look for the vertical shots placements as well as the speed closeness as they should be together. What does everyone think?

I would use load #4 and do another ladder for seating depth.
Start first load .010" off the lands and increase distance from lands to .020, .030, .040 and so on.
Look for a good horizontal grouping of 3 shots that are in sequence of seating depth. Example: .020, .030, .040

Does it make a difference what you fine tune first? I did do a ladder test earlier for seating depth before the charging test. Found out that between .30 & .40 the grouping was quite a bit tighter. I did a test from touching the lands to .50. That was using a load of 75.5 grains.

Sorry, I had the methods confused ( ladder vs. OCW) and that you were At 300 yards!

And yes, mirage and people shooting next to you doesn't help either!

Last edited:
in a ladder you need enough time in gravity to show what you are trying to weed out ,

with 1 so high and 7 so low , just says not enough distance and that poi changes due to power charges , are too random and overlap , not useful IMO

differences between 4 & 6 , 1-1/2 moa poi shift! , horizontal , probably mirage