Labradar tripod

Beer Baron

Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2019
Messages
18
Location
Colorado
I need a good tripod for my Labradar chrono. Read bad things about the Labradar tripod and was wondering if anyone was using a tripod that works well. Any other tips or tricks would also be helpful as I just recieved it as a Christmas present. Thanks!
 

jimbires

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
1,945
Location
clearfield county , Pa
@FEENIX , Ed is the guy that figured this out . it is by far the best , most economical set up I've seen . it works just dandy . cost about $40 for sawhorse and ball mount . for prone this is the best way to go .
 

Attachments

  • P6210898.JPG
    P6210898.JPG
    656.2 KB · Views: 326

FEENIX

Well-Known Member
LRH Team Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2008
Messages
16,444
Location
Great Falls, MT

nksmfamjp

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2004
Messages
1,155
How do you want to set it up? I set mine up next to my rifle with a cheap tripod/ARCA clamp and it works awesome.



 

Beer Baron

Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2019
Messages
18
Location
Colorado
Do most of my load work from the bench so I ordered the tripod, sight and trigger reccomended by Axl as well as a laptop backpack to carry everything. Probably add that arca clamp as well. I didn't think those small tripods would support the LR but I guess I was wrong. I like the idea of the prone set up but I don't have that option where I currently shoot. Thanks for all of the info and I will update after a range trip.
 

johnnyk

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2001
Messages
2,301
Location
Potters Hill, NC
Lots of options. I use just a plain camera tripod; the LabRadar and battery pack stay on it all the time. I only have to carry it outside to my 100yd range, so no need to disassemble every time.
LR.jpg


Here's one for the bench top:
https://arkcomachine.com/shop?olsPage=products/quad-base-use-for-lab-radar

I was thinking about another that I saw somewhere. IIRC it was a PVC four way fitting that you attach PVC pipes to for legs. Do a search (other rifle forums/Google) and ideas will come.
 

Tiny Tim

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2015
Messages
916
Options are limited only by your imagination. I've seen people attach a ball mount to a flat steel plate as a base for use on a bench. It all adds weight and bulk. I think I need a Radio Flyer when I go to the range. LOL
 

FEENIX

Well-Known Member
LRH Team Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2008
Messages
16,444
Location
Great Falls, MT
I was thinking about another that I saw somewhere. IIRC it was a PVC four way fitting that you attach PVC pipes to for legs. Do a search (other rifle forums/Google) and ideas will come.
If you are referring to Ryan Cheney's quad pod, the unit is $45 + shipping. It does not include the adapter and the legs. I contacted him before, and they were out, and it's what prompted my own as shown by @jimbires, the total cost to build is $40.

 

lejuch

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2016
Messages
94
Location
Texas
@FEENIX , Ed is the guy that figured this out . it is by far the best , most economical set up I've seen . it works just dandy . cost about $40 for sawhorse and ball mount . for prone this is the best way to go .
This is what I did, works PERFECTLY with an added trigger....never miss a shot, in fact I sometimes have to send shots to th3 trash because labradar picks up mag changes or a vigorous bolt manipulation!
 

jimbires

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
1,945
Location
clearfield county , Pa
I used mine for quite a while mounted to a piece of plywood without a ball mount . the big problem is the labradar unit gets pounded by the blast of the muzzle brake . I used a cement block to protect the labradar . it was a big PITA the saw horse gets the labradar up out of the blast , assuming you have a side discharge brake . I put the saw horse over the front of the scope for braked rifles , and out over the muzzle for rifles without a brake . I'd guess the trigger kit the guys have mentioned would allow the labradar to be placed over the front of the scope for any rifle .
 

Attachments

  • P8201851.JPG
    P8201851.JPG
    324.3 KB · Views: 84

FEENIX

Well-Known Member
LRH Team Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2008
Messages
16,444
Location
Great Falls, MT
This is what I did, works PERFECTLY with an added trigger....never miss a shot, in fact I sometimes have to send shots to th3 trash because labradar picks up mag changes or a vigorous bolt manipulation!
Try not arming it until you are ready to pull the trigger. What is your sensitivity setting?
 
Last edited:

bigbulls

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2015
Messages
561
Location
Oregon
@FEENIX , Ed is the guy that figured this out . it is by far the best , most economical set up I've seen . it works just dandy . cost about $40 for sawhorse and ball mount . for prone this is the best way to go .
Feenix
I like the looks of your setup over the top. I can do this with my tripod setup and then I won't have to worry about muzzle blast from the brake. I was wondering if you could share what setting you use internally for your Lab setup this way. (inches from barrel, trigger sensitivity,) I would like to set it up just over the top of the muzzle end of the scope so I can still reach it. My usual position has been left side 6-12" to side in front of muzzle brake which makes it hard to reach but it works there. ie: large caliber blast.
 

Recent Posts

Top