Labradar not reading

Brett Bracken

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2018
Messages
141
Location
Midland, TX
Recently I purchased a new Labradar chrono and set it up per the instructions and it was not picking up my shots. I had my unit setting slightly behind and to the right of my muzzle.....approx. 12 inches away. What am I doing wrong? I don't know if it matters but I have a Fat Bastard MB installed on my barrel.
 

badthirtyone

Well-Known Member
LRH Team Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2007
Messages
773
Location
Denver Colorado
Did you buy new or used? The reason I ask is that many of us lab radar users have discovered that the internal microphones can and do wear out or go bad.

Another possibility is how you have your trigger/sensitivity/mode setup in your unit. You also have to make sure you are using the correct speed range such as rifle versus pistol.

The simplest solution whether your internal mic is working or not, is to get the JKL precision lab radar trigger. If you search the threads here, you will find many, many posts that talk about the JKL. It is a game changer when it comes to picking up shots.
 

badthirtyone

Well-Known Member
LRH Team Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2007
Messages
773
Location
Denver Colorado
Labradars can be a little quirky, but certainly worth the effort to get them figured out. I love mine to death, but without the JKL trigger, I was beginning to get frustrated.
 

Hela52

Well-Known Member
LRH Team Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2021
Messages
121
Location
Wyoming
Try setting it a little farther away and maybe back a little. Mine seems to have more trouble picking up smaller projectiles.
 

808mike

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2018
Messages
45
Location
Hawaii
For rifles with a brake especially sideways brakes i have to but mine couple inches in front of muzzle instead of rifles with out a brake where i have them 6 to 12 inches behind the muzzle.
 

sedancowboy

Well-Known Member
LRH Team Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2014
Messages
789
Location
Wilsall, MT
What caliber are you shooting? I set the LR in front of and to the side of rifles with brakes so as the blast blows back it does not disturb the LR. Small boattail bullets are hard to record. Do you have a SD card in it?
 

dirthead1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2016
Messages
209
Is it not picking up the shot or not displaying a velocity? When I first got mine, I had trouble aiming it. As a result, it would pick up the shot but not display a velocity reading. Once I figured out how to aim it a bit more accurately, that issue went away.
 

Brett Bracken

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2018
Messages
141
Location
Midland, TX
badthirtyone....Took your advice and ordered a JKL trigger
sedancowboy....I'm shooting 220 gr Berger Hybrid LR out of a 300 Win Mag
dirthead1....I'm getting an error message....something about not being able to read or sense the projectile (cant' remember exactly)
 

dirthead1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2016
Messages
209
badthirtyone....Took your advice and ordered a JKL trigger
sedancowboy....I'm shooting 220 gr Berger Hybrid LR out of a 300 Win Mag
dirthead1....I'm getting an error message....something about not being able to read or sense the projectile (cant' remember exactly)

I think it's an aiming issue. If it's giving an error then the microphone is picking up the shot, but the radar isn't tracking the bullet. I had this same issue more than once.
 

QuietTexan

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2020
Messages
754
Location
Fort Worth, Texas
The trigger is a must-have. I use a speed-square to aim mine, but some guys get a fancy replacement deal:

Just out of curiosity what is your trigger sensitivity set at?
 
Last edited:
Top