Labradar/Mount/Trigger

Coyote Shadow Tracker

Well-Known Member
LRH Team Member
LRH Sponsor
Joined
Dec 9, 2020
Messages
1,567
Location
Social Circle, GA
I am currently going to purchase a Labradar Chronograph. ASAP
The "Labradar All Purpose Mount" is out of stock and backordered everywhere and I also want to get the Trigger addition.
Is there any other mounts/tripods that shooters that have the Labradar use?
Which Trigger connection to get? I have seen several different Trigger options.

Thanks much
Len
 

Sam4886

Active Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2021
Messages
35
Location
Eastern WA
I just use a standard vortex tripod and mounting plate. Generally use it on my own though so don't have to mess with hot firing lines and stuff. Tried a few of the table top mounts and didn't like them.

Never had any issues getting it to trigger so haven't bought one of those either.

They sell a quad pod thing that you put EMT tube into that looks pretty slick. Goes over the gun for easier aiming, triggering.
 

cynjon

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 28, 2019
Messages
128
Location
Rapid City, SD
I've used the Labradar tripod and a full-size camera tripod. Depends on how much bench space I have, shooting position (prone/bench/tripod) and how windy it is. I use the JKL recoil trigger and it has been awesome. The only shots I miss are the ones where I forget to arm the LR before shooting.
 

Varmint Hunter

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2001
Messages
4,240
Location
Long Island, New York
I bought a short, stout tripod from Amazon. Look at the ratings before you buy. I've also have a JKL trigger but I don't use it anymore. The LabRadar works fine without it.

If you want an indestructible hard case for your LR without breaking the bank, look at the Apache cases from Harbor Freight. Them come in various sizes and colors. The price is very good for a Pelican case knock-off. My case holds the LR, various wires, tripod, inertia trigger and external battery with a little room to spare.

Apache Case.jpg
 
Last edited:

7070yshot

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
136
Location
Liberty Hill, TX
I am currently going to purchase a Labradar Chronograph. ASAP
The "Labradar All Purpose Mount" is out of stock and backordered everywhere and I also want to get the Trigger addition.
Is there any other mounts/tripods that shooters that have the Labradar use?
Which Trigger connection to get? I have seen several different Trigger options.

Thanks much
Len
Make your own. The tripods and that orange mount are crap. Get a 8in square 3/8 piece of steel at TSC or other supply house. Drill hole in center for bolt to attach the Labradar directly or a camera type ball. I’ll post of a pic of mine. Solid
 

hadjii

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
276
Location
Iowa
My bench mount is a 12" quick clamp with a 1/4 x 20 bolt welded to the end. Works great. I also bought the Pietre trigger, science he was the one who came up with the idea. I use vet wrap to secure it to the underside of the rifle stock, and works very well. The triggering system on the labradar works, but with the Pietre trigger, I can mount the labradar closer to me, so it's within reach while sitting at the bench. Makes everything much more convenient.
 

ReelnReds

Member
Joined
May 19, 2020
Messages
9
Location
Houston, Texas
I use this on from Arkco, it works great and setup time is quick
 

Coyote Shadow Tracker

Well-Known Member
LRH Team Member
LRH Sponsor
Joined
Dec 9, 2020
Messages
1,567
Location
Social Circle, GA
I bought a short, stout tripod from Amazon. Look at the ratings before you buy. I've also have a JKL trigger but I don't use it anymore. The LabRadar works fine without it.

If you want an indestructible hard case for your LR without breaking the bank, look at the Apache cases from Harbor Freight. Them come in various sizes and colors. The price is very good for a Pelican case knock-off. My case holds the LR, various wires, tripod, inertia trigger and external battery with a little room to spare.

View attachment 279199
Thanks much! Looks great they way you did it.
 

Coyote Shadow Tracker

Well-Known Member
LRH Team Member
LRH Sponsor
Joined
Dec 9, 2020
Messages
1,567
Location
Social Circle, GA
Make your own. The tripods and that orange mount are crap. Get a 8in square 3/8 piece of steel at TSC or other supply house. Drill hole in center for bolt to attach the Labradar directly or a camera type ball. I’ll post of a pic of mine. Solid
Thanks, I just don't want to buy or make several different mounts and then not using them. This plte idea sounds good.
Thansk
 

Dh515

Member
LRH Team Member
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
5
I bought a short, stout tripod from Amazon. Look at the ratings before you buy. I've also have a JKL trigger but I don't use it anymore. The LabRadar works fine without it.

If you want an indestructible hard case for your LR without breaking the bank, look at the Apache cases from Harbor Freight. Them come in various sizes and colors. The price is very good for a Pelican case knock-off. My case holds the LR, various wires, tripod, inertia trigger and external battery with a little room to spare.

View attachment 279199
Is that the XL size? Thanks!
 

johnnyk

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2001
Messages
2,355
Location
Potters Hill, NC
Hey Len,
I also use a standard camera tripod. Mine stays "together" in the man cave 24/7 and if/when I decide to use it, I just pick it up and walk out the back door. Shooting bench is only 20-25' away. I know not all have that luxury but that dictates how I use it.
I haven't had the need for an extra trigger. Mine catches each shot unless, like was mentioned previously, I forget to arm it. I have muzzle brakes with different exhaust angles which have to be taken into consideration or I'll miss a reading. Other than those two, mine is spot on.
The one thing I do not like is not being able to edit the shot string and put details about the load (i.e., bullet, weight, powder, primer, etc.) for easier reference.
Another thing. I had a work phone, a Samsung S8, that I used for the app and it worked great. Then I had to go to a S10 and not so great. I have tried many times and several different things/options but my S10 is a no-go for bluetooth with the LR. Luckily, work hasn't made me turn in the S8 so I keep it charged just for the LR.
 

jpndave

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2006
Messages
464
Location
Hyde Park, UT
Is that the XL size? Thanks!
The unit will fit in the 3800 Large, I even put the small tripod in with it. I have since gotten the 4800 XL which is what is in the photo above. My first case was black since then they have the orange which matches the Labradar better and is more visible. They are currently on sale and I have a 20% coupon for this weekend if you need it.
 

Coyote Shadow Tracker

Well-Known Member
LRH Team Member
LRH Sponsor
Joined
Dec 9, 2020
Messages
1,567
Location
Social Circle, GA
The unit will fit in the 3800 Large, I even put the small tripod in with it. I have since gotten the 4800 XL which is what is in the photo above. My first case was black since then they have the orange which matches the Labradar better and is more visible. They are currently on sale and I have a 20% coupon for this weekend if you need it.
I regularly go to HF so I am going to pick one up this weekend. (I already have two new xl and two L black ones setting in my equipment area, but like the orange).
Thanks again
Len
 
Top