Is faster better?

WyoRifleman

I am still new to reloading and long range shooting. The more I learn the more I realize I have a loooooong way to go. So this might be a simple/dumb question. But is shooting at a higher fps better? I understand that the hotter you shoot the shorter your barrel life, more powder means more kick, more powder also means more $$ per shot. So excluding these why wouldn't I want to shooting 3200+?

My current build I am working on is a Sherman Short 7ss (still waiting on my action). I have a Preferred blanks barrel, purchased some berger 190's, can't find any 195 eol's, and have some h1000 that I plan to reload with.

Any and all information/ knowledge is greatly appreciated. Thanks guys.

Generally speaking, increasing bullet speed reduces time of flight. A reduction in time of flight results in lowering the effects of gravity and wind. This assumes that you aren't lowering bullet weight to attain the increase in velocity.
What Varmint Hunter said, but don't sacrifice BC for speed in LONG range shots. Just my opinion.

What Varmint Hunter said, but don't sacrifice BC for speed in LONG range shots. Just my opinion.
Depends on the range 500 yds versus 1000 I'll take speed any day over bc too a degree maybe past 500 yds but then I would compare the differance in bc and vel too see if giving up vel makes a difference I run em as fast as I can

I am still new to reloading and long range shooting. The more I learn the more I realize I have a loooooong way to go. So this might be a simple/dumb question. But is shooting at a higher fps better? I understand that the hotter you shoot the shorter your barrel life, more powder means more kick, more powder also means more $$ per shot. So excluding these why wouldn't I want to shooting 3200+?