Iowa 2022 Whitetail

selmerfan

So, this is technically an Iowa 2022 whitetail, but is from last season. Our late muzzleloader season runs until January 10th and it's the season I hunt because I'm a Lutheran pastor and the regular gun seasons in the weeks before Christmas simply don't give me enough time to hunt. My oldest daughter and I hunt from ground blinds and last year we moved to a new part of the state in southeast Iowa. I struggled to find good spots that would work for a ground blind, but was invited to hunt a parishioner's small plot of timber because they hunt the regular gun season in early December. I spent over 40 hours sitting in the blind before I finally had a decent opportunity on January 8th. The weather had been unseasonably warm and the deer weren't really moving much. We had gotten a few inches of snow on New Year's Eve and then it started to warm up to above freezing during the day. On January 8th we had heavy cloud cover and it started to lightly mist around 3 p.m. I got on stand at 3:30 p.m. after kids got home from school, not real optimistic because it was already so gloomy, though I've killed a lot of deer in snow and rain conditions. End of legal shooting time was 5:22 p.m. and by 5 p.m. I couldn't see much of anything in the old growth timber leading down to the Mississippi River unless it had snow for a background. But I stuck it out. At 5:18 p.m. I checked one of the incoming trails again with my Swarovski 10x42 SLC binocular and saw the white band of a deer nose sticking out and moving around. I positioned my tripod rest to where I though he would go on a trail leading toward the blind, well aware that I was running out of time. As soon as I got into position I saw the silhouette of an adult deer against the backdrop of snow across the ravine from where my blind was at. It was on one of the trails on the sidehill across from me. I quickly moved my rest again, back to where it was originally, and struggled to find the deer in my scop