Impact of bayonet-style chronograph on group size

TexSavage

Well-Known Member
LRH Team Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2006
Messages
257
Location
Amarillo, Texas
I still have an use a magneto speed myself With a mount from wiser Precision
338 dude, can you do a close up of how you have the bipod and Wiser mounted? I have the Wiser and run a harris bipod but am having heck getting it all set up. I'm about to the point of selling the Wiser mount. I do have a pic rail on my Oryx chassis, but getting it all aligned and getting the sporter bayonet close enough, it almost touches my barrel has become quite frustrating.
 

marchboom

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2008
Messages
104
Location
North Idaho
Barrel mounted chronos are fine if you just want to know the bullet speed. But if you're doing load testing for groups I wouldn't put anything on the barrel that I wouldn't want on it when hunting, competing in shooting sports, etc.

If this is what you have at the moment then do load testing without the chrono then put it on when you want to know the bullet speed of your chosen load.
 

milo-2

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 1, 2011
Messages
1,293
Location
Gillette, Wy
I run heavier barrels, M24 contour for the most part, I have yet to see much diff in groups size with magneto on or off. POI shift, some yes. I did have one Marksman contour barrel where the magneto acted as a tuner and reduced group size by over 50%, and honestly, I could never get the accuracy from the barrel I wanted w/o the magneto hanging off the end. The barrel did not stick around.
I find it funny, if the question would have read, does a suppressor affect group size, the majority of answers would be that it improves groups. Even though to a degree, you are doing the same thing, adding weight.
 

davidu

Well-Known Member
LRH Team Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2020
Messages
123
Location
North Texas
I see an impact shift of about an inch or so at 100 but that doesn’t bother me too much when doing load development. I’m only looking for a speed node and don’t care where or how it groups. But if you do want to shoot groups while checking velocity or if you are shooting a suppressor. Wiser Precision has a carbon fiber rod that allows you to get off the barrel and adapts to a picatinny or arca-swiss rail. Costs about $100, light weight and tool-less. Check it out. https://www.wiserprecision.com/products/chrono-mount
 

davidu

Well-Known Member
LRH Team Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2020
Messages
123
Location
North Texas
I have the MS with the Wiser Precision standoff. I ordered a LabRadar with all the extras needed to make it functional while I was waiting for a new bayonet after nicking the second sensor on the MS.
Here’s what I have learned..
Magneto Speed functions perfectly 100% of the time and is easy to use.
The Wiser Precision standoff has some issues. The little springs pop off never to be found. The guy that makes it suggested gluing one end of the spring to the little hole on the part that moves. That seems to work ok.
It requires a picatinny rail to attach it to the rifle stock. Afixing a picatinny rail to a sporter rifle stock using the sling stud was a big problem for me. I had to shim it and it wasn’t stable enough resulting in a ding that cost $170 for new bayonet. I’m sure someone has engineered a better solution than I did. The WP standoff works well with my chassis rifles. But you still have to pay attention to the clamp staying snug.

The Labradar with all the goodies ( battery, battery holder, pouch to carry it, tripod mount, sd card, recoil trigger, aiming device which evolved into red dot sight and 3D printed holder to get the orange box to pick up 95% of the shots) cost north of $700.
Also, which I didn’t appreciate until it was too late, the Labradar won’t pick up anything over 3900f/s. So much for chronographing my 204 Ruger and 22-250 Rem
Recording shots IMHO is a PITA. The recoil trigger picks up bogus data when ejecting shells or loading shells or maybe just to screw with me.
I know a lot of folks really like their Labradar. I’m just not one of them.
 

Painless300

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2020
Messages
249
Location
Rome, GA
I have the MS with the Wiser Precision standoff. I ordered a LabRadar with all the extras needed to make it functional while I was waiting for a new bayonet after nicking the second sensor on the MS.
Here’s what I have learned..
Magneto Speed functions perfectly 100% of the time and is easy to use.
The Wiser Precision standoff has some issues. The little springs pop off never to be found. The guy that makes it suggested gluing one end of the spring to the little hole on the part that moves. That seems to work ok.
It requires a picatinny rail to attach it to the rifle stock. Afixing a picatinny rail to a sporter rifle stock using the sling stud was a big problem for me. I had to shim it and it wasn’t stable enough resulting in a ding that cost $170 for new bayonet. I’m sure someone has engineered a better solution than I did. The WP standoff works well with my chassis rifles. But you still have to pay attention to the clamp staying snug.

The Labradar with all the goodies ( battery, battery holder, pouch to carry it, tripod mount, sd card, recoil trigger, aiming device which evolved into red dot sight and 3D printed holder to get the orange box to pick up 95% of the shots) cost north of $700.
Also, which I didn’t appreciate until it was too late, the Labradar won’t pick up anything over 3900f/s. So much for chronographing my 204 Ruger and 22-250 Rem
Recording shots IMHO is a PITA. The recoil trigger picks up bogus data when ejecting shells or loading shells or maybe just to screw with me.
I know a lot of folks really like their Labradar. I’m just not one of them.
My buddy has the same issues your stating plus takes him much longer to set up and its pretty finicky. Although, once its set up and you remember to arm it after every shot it actually does a great job. Hard to justify $700 for this technology right now. I am sure someone will get it perfected but till then I'll just use that $700 on powder, bullets and brass and stick with my MS.
 

Txhillbilly

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
256
Location
A little south of Cowtown
I've had the MS V3 ever since it came out years ago. The smallest contour barrel that I have is a 5.5 Shilen ( Magnum contour), all the rest are Varmint or M24 contour barrels. I also shoot everything suppressed, and mount the V3 on the suppressor's.
Most of the time, I'll have a small POI change when using the V3, but have never notices any changes in group sizes when not using the V3 on a suppressor.

Using it on a Sporter or Ultra lite barrel may have different results, but on heavier barrels I haven't ever had any issues with using the V3.
 
Top