I'm looking for advice on loading .30-06

midmo

I bought some H4350 ( because it is not temp sensitive) to charge cases for my rem 700 .30-06. I am using 150gr bullets. I have some Sierra gameking soft point boat tails, some Hornady interlocks, and some Hornady sst's. I started mid range for charge recommendation in my Hornady manual and I have not gotten great results until today and I would t call it great. I had 58.5gr of h4359 under a 150gr sst and I got 1 inch 3 shot group at 100. Everything I have loaded has been under that charge and nothing under 2 inch group size. My manual says 60.6 is max but Hodgkin says 61.6 is max. On my 58.5 load the bolt was just a tad harder to open than normal but no other signs that I saw of high pressure.
Now I am new to reloading but I know h4350 is better for 165 and above. Since I am getting a little harder bolt on open am I safe to go up a .1 of a gr at a time to try to tighten my groups or is it time to change either bullet weight or powder?
I would like to stick with a Hodgdon extreme or another power that is not temp sensitive.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    96.6 KB · Views: 375
My advice is to back off to 55 grains or so and shoot the Berger VLD seating depth test (it is a sticky at the top of this forum). Then do your powder charge workup. By the end of that process, you will have some idea of the overall potential of the combination you are working with.

In the meantime, here are some things to think about:

1. Do you know the accuracy potential of your rifle? If not, how do you plan to evaluate your handloads? A box of factory match ammo might tell you something useful.

2. What are your performance goals (accuracy, muzzle velocity, effective range, desired terminal performance, intended application) and why? Your answer to this question will go a long way toward selecting the right components.