I'm Deciding Between a Criterion and Shilen Barrel at Northland

Savage 12BVSS

Howdy all, trying to decide between the two barrel brands at Northland for a savage gun I'm building. I've got it all ready just need a barrel, I know what caliber I want (284) but to be honest I've never heard of a criterion at all. Shilen gets talked about and has some fans for sure but I figure its kind of a roll of the dice anyways. Does Criterion seem to make a comparable quality barrel, or should I just go with whats a known brand to me? I already use a Lothar Walther and McGowan on guns and I'm happy with both although I had my Smith rechamber the McGowen to a match chamber and recrown also, as it was rough right out of the box. I listen and take advice especially when the replies seem to follow a similar course so anything will be appreciated, I know I'm still learning as I go. Thanks Dave

Criterion makes excellent barrels and are making a good name for themselves. Just do a search on them. My savage build is a criterion. Excellent barrel.
20190304_180648.jpg
20170622_191657.jpg

Those are both 5 shot groups.

Last edited:
I really dont think it will matter. I have used Mcgowan, X-caliber, green mtn and Criterion. All have shot very well. If you bed a savage rifles recoil lug and feed it good ammo they seem to just shoot.