If you could move to any state for Hunting, what would it be?

teddy12b

I know a guy who is in a position where he may be looking for a new job. He's a hunter and outdoorsman and wants to know what state would be the best one for him to move to. He's never had a good paying job so he'll be hunting & fishing (mostly hunting) public land.

I'm not an expert on out west, but I've been there enough to tell the guy his best bet is either colorado, wyoming, or idaho. He has a wife & child so it can't be too remote.

What's the best place to move to for this guy?

I can't speak for Wyoming or CO, but I have lived in ID and I think Montana has hands down better hunting and fishing than ID. No offense to you ID guys. ID has a whole lot of public land but much of it isn't very accessable without outfitter etc., at least in the southern part of the state. Montana has a lot of public land that is very accessable. also if you get to know some folks, that can get you a long way too on private land. And as far as fishing goes, IMO there is simply no comparison.

I would recommend he look at the different state's hunting regs and opportunities online.

One other thing to consider...Montana is not the best state for work/employment. The average wage is very low compared to the rest of the country. If he can land a government job in the forest service, etc., he could get a good steady income with some benefits.

I would want some where with milder winters than those states...maybe south east Colorado? You're a resident but weather might be better.

Montana is terribly cold and our pay is so low here we have to recycle our beer cans to afford reloading supplies LOL:D
I'll vote for Alaska!!
Dirt cheap tags for residents plus all that pristine country.