I would like suggestion on what to look for when buying a backpack with rifle scabbard???

ODAVID

I have a heavy rifle; scope and rifle total in at 10lbs. I would like to buy a daytype backpack with rifle scabbard built in to transport to shooting area approx. 1-5 miles. I am new to this and would like helpful suggestions. Helpful suggestion are welcome.

THANKS IN ADVANCE ODAVID

I did come across this video.
Maybe suggestions could also be based on his thinking.
THANKS AGAIN
ODAVID

Lancer makes one for @ 100.00. Eberlestock starts @ 300.00. There are several others but these seem to be the ones I see the most. I don't think the Lancer is the quality of the Eberle. I heard several people complain about the weight of the Eberlestocks. I don't notice the weight , but I train with a weighted vest. Hopefully, others will jump in with reviews

fwiw, I have Kuiu (Ultra 6000, Icon 3200 and 185 packs), Outdoorsmans (Optics and Long Range packs), and Eberlestock (J107M) packs. My hunting style is public land spot-and-stalk, so I always have to be prepared to pack my animal out myself, usually solo.

In my experience, the Eberlestock provides the best carrying system I've used, by far. Gun is well-protected, and yet I can access the rifle quickly and easily - but I virtually never need to do that in my spot-and-stalk public land hunting.
(The J107M has a wider scabbard than regular J107, and Cordura front panel, so heavier.) Scabbard accommodates large scopes, with tactical knobs.
I've carried a number of animals (including smaller deer and pronghorn, whole, after field dressing) in/on the Eberlestock.
I also like the fact that you can still carry your rifle safely/easily in the Eberlestock even if you have meat in the pack or an animal strapped onto the frame.
The scabbard also works great for carrying a tripod and spotting scope if you're a spotter instead of the shooter.