i want to hear your opinion. everyone has one

pressman

i am fairly new to long range hunting only of about 3 years. i have now purchased a custom built 260 mak. I have upgraded my scope to a Night force 5.5 X 22 X 56 and i have a 4 X 14 X 50 IOR on my custom 223. Now i do live in Indiana but i go to
Wyoming (Sheridan) every year to hunt or just a week of Shooting. on my friends ranch. Now for the problem. I have a 5 year old pare of 10 X 42 Pentex bino's very nice or at least they use to be. last year as i made a set up so i could take a fairly long range shot. this would really be my first long hunting shot. well i found 3 good buck just feeding on the hill side 500 yards away. but when i looked through my bino's to really pick the best one... i actually could not tell which one to shoot... so i has to use my night force scope.. which worked out ok. But now i am thinking of a bino up grade.... wanted to stay in the 1,000 range but i really just don't think I can. buy cheap buy twice is my motto.. so here is where you guys in the field come in. Leica vs swa. or any brand that you have experience with. I would like to stay with the 10 X 42 style just for the compact and feel of things. I know you guys use bino's all the time even for reading the wind. and in a lot of ways you guys are the real deal. not some salesman wanting or needing a commission. clarity is the key. need to be able to count tines.

Thank You

Last edited:
Steiner Night Hunter 10X50 is under $1000, not by much but it is (or was when I bought mine).

Beats my Leupold Gold Ring 10X42s, especially in low light. I've really come to love the IF Binoculars. Steiner is the only company that I know of that currently makes them..........they might even be phasing them out now.? Get em while you can.

Leupold and Steiner are the only Bino's I've ever owned, looked through some swaro's but never bought any.