I seriously doubt this is case head separation but what do you guys think?

timberelk

All my cases from last time I shot have these distinct part were everything above the line is shinny/reflective brass while everything below the line is dull. Maybe the dull portion of the case is the part that expanded?

These loads were intro loads and this was the second time the brass has been fired. Primers look great and bolt lifted very easy after firing.

Green arrow is pointing to the dividing point between shinny and dull brass.

Cases were clean and shot in my chamber and then were put right back into the box. Did not touch the ground or any dirt.

Attachments

• 7FBE55FA-9898-48FD-9E23-89125F608954.jpeg
    7FBE55FA-9898-48FD-9E23-89125F608954.jpeg
    294.8 KB · Views: 607
I also tried the paper clip test and didn't feel anything (but I've never felt anything via the paper clip method because I'm new to reloading)

The area that is still shiny...is that not the "case head area"?
So all the area showing dull or rubbing abrasion is the expansion area of the brass...
I would take a fiber brush and polish the inside of the dies and the chamber of the rifle.....I mean electric drill and hi speed polish...maybe even a little JB bore paste..

The area that is still shiny...is that not the "case head area"?
So all the area showing dull or rubbing abrasion is the expansion area of the brass...
I would take a fiber brush and polish the inside of the dies and the chamber of the rifle.....I mean electric drill and hi speed polish...maybe even a little JB bore paste..

Thanks for the info! Would that just be looks or will the polished die produce better reloads?

Are the cases growing excessively after firing?

Now that you mention that... yes they are.

I trimmed all to min length which is 2.025 and all cases are now 2.037-2.035. Max length per the book is 2.035