I need your advice, I need your help

Greg Duerr

I was fire forming some loads this morning in my .243 AI I was shooting New Nosler Cases and 40gr of RL 22 and the 105 Berger. The accuracy I was getting was super. Three shot groups at 100 yds. .309, .251, .286, and one five shot group that was .441 I was impressed until I started shooting Some starting loads in the Ackley formed cases. RL 22 105 berger same seating deapth, starting at 45.0gr.
The first 3 shot group went 1.546. 45.5gr 1.423, 46.0gr. 1.389, and 46.5gr 1.254 however I was getting High pressure issues at 46.0gr
The berger manual shows a max load in the standard .243 RL22 at 43.9

The Hornady Manual shows 43.5 with a 105 A Max

Nosler Manual shows 42.0gr and the 105

So are my starting loads in Ackley way to high, as it appears??

ON the way home I Chronograhphed the 46.5gr load and It read an average of 3375fps.
The Smith that built the rifle told me that you might get 3300fps
Here's the stange thing that threw me so far off.................
The Smith sent me a Proof load. Five shots at 100yds .438 His max load with his lot of RL 22 was 49.0gr...................His brothers Max load in his .243AI was 48.2 shooting the 105 Berger.
With my lot of RL 22 my max load is 45.0gr

Is there that MUCH difference in powder lots ????

I will try again at the range with a starting load of 40.0gr in the Ackley cases and work up from there....................If I don't get the accuracy as I did Fire Forming then MY hunting load this Deer season will be with a standard .243

G

I have some old WXR(RL22 marketed by Winchester) that shoots exactly the same as my current RL22. It can vary, sounds like the lot you have is pretty fast.

Are you pushing the shoulder back any? One of my buddies did an AI and had similar problems and it was the dies pushing the shoulders back excessively, ruined groups and made pressure signs. Probably from the primer backing out then getting squished.