Hunting drop charts?

chad44

I have been shooting long range for two years now but haven't hunted long range yet. I have a few questions. First I'm wondering about the G7 ballistic program. I like being able to verify my ballistics. But haven't done this yet. I have always used my phone for it and don't want to have to rely on a battery during a week long hunt. When printing off the range card how do you know what temp/pressure you be in? In September the temp can go from low 30s to 70s. Also the elevation can rise/fall 1000 feet. Do you just take several different papers with?
Thanks

you can fit a lot of info on one sheet. I have seen guys put bullet drop by temp from the 20's to the 100's from 100 yards to 1000 all on one sheet and laminated it.

I use range cards with Density Altitude every 1000 ft. I will bring four or five depending on the day. You will need a program or weather station (Kestrel 4000) that will convert pressure, temp and dew point to the associated air density.

If current DA is 2300, pull out your 2000 card. Change cards corresponding to the current DA with temperature and/or elevation changes. Cards are a great backup to verify your computer generated G7 solution.

you can fit a lot of info on one sheet. I have seen guys put bullet drop by temp from the 20's to the 100's from 100 yards to 1000 all on one sheet and laminated it.

This is similar to what I did. I put it all on an excel spreadsheet so I know how many more/less clicks I have at different temperatures as well as altitudes. Having it on one sheet is a lot easier than fumbling through 15 different ones.

This is similar to what I did. I put it all on an excel spreadsheet so I know how many more/less clicks I have at different temperatures as well as altitudes. Having it on one sheet is a lot easier than fumbling through 15 different ones.