HS Precision

duovid

Hello all,

I am new to long range hunting after years of stalking and would like some advise on rifles available from HS Precision. Anyone who could comment on their accuracy claims, workmanship and finnish of the rifle that you purchased would be most appreciated. In particular what additional work needs doing to these rifles to make them shoot groups suitable for use on small to medium size deer from 300 to 1000 yards. I would invite comments from those who actually own or have significant long range experience with these rifles, not rumours or armchair hunters thoughts.

Thanks for a great website,

Regards,

Duovid. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif

I am a HS nut!!! I have several of their 2000P handguns ( bolt action single shot high powered pistols). I have not done anything to mine except to put 3x12 burris EER scopes on them. check out the specialty handgun section here and look for the post on the WSM's, these groups are all shot with HS's. I have used mine for game out beyond the 400 yd mark and am presently setting up the three of the HS's (270, 7mm and 300 WSM) for long range shooting and hunting.
I have not been dissapointed in any of my HS's. They will shoot as guaranteed.
nmhunter /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif

Duovid,
I have shot an HS Varminter in .308 Win. a lot and it is a fine rifle. Easily meets their 0.5" criteria IF I can hold that well. Had some issues with it but they were corrected and I believe addressed with factory production. Trigger and ejector needed tweeking, both fixed and OK. Have just under 5000 rounds through the rifle and it is still shooting like new. I cannot say anything but positive about the rifle as it is now.

For a Pro-Series 2000 PHR in 300 WM, nice fit, fairly light rifle considering the barrel contour, light recoil for a 300 WM of this weight, nice trigger, very rough stock, not as in poorly finished but rough as in 40 Grit.