How to measure on MOA picatinny rail?

buglum

I just bought a Savage FCP HS precision Lapua. I have read people commenting on differences in what rails came on their rifles. Im relatively new to this and do not know how to determine if the factory rail is 0MOA or 20 MOA. Can anyone explain how to tell the difference?

Can I just measure the stock end and barrel end of the rail, and if the stock end is higher that means its probably a 20 MOA?

Their was too much technical talk when I used the search methods. Thanks!

How obvious is the height difference between the ends. Should it be obvious to the naked eye? When I hold it up the rail looks parallel to the action but I'm not sure how small of difference I'm looking for

If the scope is mounted rotate the turret or adjuster in the down direction till it bottoms out and keep tract of the distance. If you know the total adjustment range of the scope that will kinda tell you how far off center your cross hair is. This won't be exact but should tell you roughly if it's a zero, ten or twenty. If it's a zero the amount of adjustment up and down should be about the same within reason. All scopes are different but this should give you a idea.

I would think the paper work that came with the rifle would state the amount especially if it was factory installed. It might be marked.

The best I can measure my Badger 20 moa rail is .455 rear and .400 front (height). It may be off a little as I measured it mounted to the action.

We discussed this before and I have the same rifle. It's a 20 MOA Picatinny base. It's easy to tell, Just remove it and mike the back end (or use calipers) and then the front. The brake and the rail are both made by the same company BTW.