How to build a LR gun?

G

Hi,
Well, it's getting to be that time of year where I want to build a new gun that will be my first.
Let me tell you what I'm thinking, and then you can tell me where I'm all wet.
First, let me say that I work for a living and don't have a barrel of money to throw at the gun.
OK, Savage makes two or three models in .300 Ultra Mag. (I like Savages). This would give me an action, bolt face, and magazine box all in the right size for this round.
The next thing would be a new barrel. I'm thinking that I need one at least 30" (how much do I need?). I also think it should have a 1-10" twist since I'm looking at shooting 180 to 220 grain, and maybe heavier bullets.
I think that I'll put it in a Varminter style stock. I have a spare one from a 112 BVSS. Would it be possible to use a barrel block with this setup? (and, where do I get one?)
I want this to weigh 15++ lbs, more like 25.
The purpose of this is to hunt at 800 to 1000 yards, with enough accuracy and retained energy, and still be somewhat portable.

Please give me your opinions, and TIA.
C'ya. Jeep.

Hi, again.
Some additional info.
I want the .300 RUM because I can get dies for it. And, I have 4 other 30 cal. rifles.
I also have a Ultimate Sniper stock for a savage long action I can use.
Who should I contact for a barrel?
I have a local gunsmith, or should I farm it?
I need your help here, guys.
Thanks, again.
C'ya. Jeep.

PS. don't recomend a Sendero, I have LOUSY luck with Remingtons (don't ask). JP.

Looks like your on your way.

I would have the local smith put a new 30" Barrel on your outfit.
Hart, Lilja, Shilen, Kreiger are all good barrels and they are made in the 30" length that I would want if I were doing what you are.
I also would have the barrel tapored to about .950" diameter at the muzzle to reduce some of the weight. A muzzle brake might be nice also. You will appreciate it if you go on up to 240 Gr bullets. 220s are bad enough in a fairly light rifle.