How much does the Point Of Impact shift with your switch barrel rifle when reinstalling a barrel?

kai

I am new to switch barrel rifles and am working on my first. It's an ARC Nucleus action with their BarLoc device to tension the barrel in place.

I have a 28 Nosler Proof Carbon barrel for hunting.
For practicing, I also bought a Criterion 223 Match prefit (Savage type) barrel and am using the ARC Barrel nut and their BarLoc device.

Today for the first time I tried loosening the BarLoc device and unscrewed the barrel 2 revolutions with the rifle supported by a bipod, then screwed it back into place using a GO chamber gauge, and tightened the BarLoc device to check for any Point Of Impact shift.

To my surprise, the Point Of Impact shifted about 4 inches to the right and 3/4 inch low.

I'd appreciate any comments to help me learn how to achieve consistency in the point of impact and would like to hear your thoughts and experience on the following:
  1. How much shift in Point Of Impact is typical on a switch barrel gun when re-installing the same barrel and when installing a different barrel?
  2. Is POI shift less with a shouldered barrel than with a barrel that uses a barrel nut?
  3. Does anyone have experience with the ARC BarLoc, and if so, can you comment on the POI shift with vs without using the BarLoc?
  4. When tightening the BarLoc (or the barrel) should the rifle be vertical (instead of supported horizontally with a bipod) to even out the lateral stresses on the barrel threads?
  5. Do you have any other suggestions to help maximize the POI consistency?

Last edited:
I have had a 1-2" difference when changing barrels, this is why I limit barrels to 2 for hunting rifles, and 3 for comp rifles.
The lighter hunting barrels tend to deviate more. I also do not use 'tools' I simply screw them on by spinning the barrel, when it snaps into place, it's done. I use shouldered barrels only.

Cheers.