How is your cold bore shot different?

teddy12b

I'm new to long range shooting and I still have a lot to learn. I'm trying to find the difference between my first cold bore shot and then the rest of the rounds fired.

How did you test/measure your cold bore shot, and what's the difference between it and regular shots in your rifle?

I tried to find my cold bore shot last weekend with a target at 200 yards. I was hoping that it would be more obvious at 200 yards than it would be at 100 yards.

For hunting purposes even at long ranges my "cold bore shot" is no different from my subsequent ones. My rifles are all built using Krieger tubes for the most part. For Factory barrels used by the larger manufactures this is a problem and one reason I personally have gotten away from them.

That's interesting. I thought that even with a Custom barrel there was still a difference between a cold bore and a follow up shot.

That's interesting. I thought that even with a Custom barrel there was still a difference between a cold bore and a follow up shot.

Normaly it's not the temperature of the barrel it's the oil left in the barrel
that changes the Point of impact from the first shot to the next.

A cold bore shot ( The first fired ) can be from a clean and oil'ed barrel , A fowled barrel
that has been dry patched , or a barrel that has been shot many times with out cleaning.

A clean oiley barrel normaly shoots a diffrent velocity than a fouled one , thus changing
the POI from the second and third shots if they are nessary.

I always clean and shoot one fouling and then sight in with the next 3 shots on my hunting
rifles. Then I clean and fire one fouling shot ,dry patch to remove the powder fouling (No oil)
and I'm ready to go hunting knowing that the first 2 or 3 shots will be on target.

With the stainless barrels you can hunt the hole season with out cleaning just dry patch
between shots.