How do you find a place to hunt?

Tuler

I've been hunting for around 30 years (since I was about 10) and have always relied on word of mouth to find my hunting spots. A few times we've gone to local fish and game offices to get lists of private hunting lands and maps of public hunting lands when we've had special tags to fill.

How do most of you find locations to hunt?

First I decide what I want to hunt. Next I find a state that has what is important to me. Trophy, how often I can get a tag, success rate, public land etc. example I pick Wyoming general area G and R. G has trophy potential, public land, lower success than Region R and I can draw a tag every 6 years. Region R deer do not get to trophy size, success rate is better than G, plenty of public land, and I can draw a tag almost every year or two. Let's say that I choose region R because going more often is more important than trophy. I call the game warden a few times, call the biologist, get road access maps, look at google earth, search forums. I will go to a new hunt area at least 4-7 days before a hunt first trip or fifth trip. The more you go the better you will do. I usually hunt the same area just different spots, you should always have a plan A B C and D

I look for a deer and how many parking spots there are....if there too many parking areas.......i find a different spot.......
Or...
When i know theres been people in the area i grab my rifle and walk into the trees.....found many of mulies in the trees.....and usually fairly close range......
Blacktail on the coast of Oregon.....guess.........