hornady sst bullets

splattermatic

was in the gun shop today, and was looking at different bullets.
opened a box of .30 cal 180 gr. sst's, and boy they sure look sweet, but anyone ever shot them ?
are they accurate, and most of all, how do they perform on game at lr ?

Think of them as "twins" with the ballistic tip....but they have a cannelure and made by another company. Re long range performance......both bullets are nothing more than a hollow point covered by a plastic tip that accelerates the expansion process. Expect generous holes even at slow speed. Some people like this....others don't.

i figured they were just like a bt, but some bullets shoot great, and other's are just so-so...
i was hoping someone could tell me if they shot worth a darn.

i am hoping, since i have no experience with bt's on game, that i could get some insight as to how they perform on game at ranges from say 400 yards to 800 yards..

suitable for elk ?

I have been loading them for a 300 Hart (weatherby imp) that is an awesome LR deer stopper.

We have been using the 180s and at a mild 3200 (the hart can go to 3400) and it will really hammer deer LR.

Longest so far is little over 800 and they normally just fold up or take a step or two.

Accuracy has been in the .2-.3 range at 100 and around 1-1.5 at 300 shooting off the Buds bag.

BH

I was gettin so so groups in my 6.5x 284 with them. farthest kill was on coyotes at around 2-250yrds. I have a friend which primarily uses these with great sucess

This has been the most accurate bullet out of my Browning A-Bolt 300 Winchester. I have used the 165 gr. with groups around .150 at 100 yds. I seat them .010 from the lands, too long for the magazine so it is a single shot. I shot an antelope at 483 yds. with this bullet. Bullet performance is like a Ballistic Tip.

Tom