Hornady Comparator, Headspace and OAL gauges?

BoomFlop

So, I'm just getting into reloading (have not even set up or loaded a round yet) and will be loading for factory rifles in 223, 7mm-08 and 308 Win.

I have been advised that I need these 3 tools.

I realize the Comparator measures off the Ogive of the bullet vs the tip which is more consistent.

I understand that checking the Headspace from cartridge head to the shoulder will help with not working the brass any more than required.

OAL gauge will allow me to monitor the amount of jump to the lands I have and help choose seating depth (measured with comparator). Do I have to make a fired case?

Let me know what everyone thinks before I purchase any of these tools.

Thank you!!!
Steve

These are very important tools in my opinion to set your dies up correctly the first time. Full length size your brass and bump the shoulder back .002-.003". The headspace comparator will help you do just that by measuring a fired case(measure case before you fire it as well). Make sure you remove the spent primer to aquire an accurate headspace measurement, sometimes the spent primer will slightly protude a thou or so and throw off your measurement. Always measure your loaded rounds off of the ogive for a more consistant measurement, overall length only matters for magazine length restrictions. Your brass will last a long time when sized properly. Buy good brass....