Help with pulling bullets/reloading same brass & different primer

cb4128

I'm fairly new to reloading and have enjoyed it thus far, but had a few questions.

1. I am pulling bullets on several loaded rounds that I decided were not up to my accuracy standard - pulling them with an inertia puller.

- after I pull the bullets on the rounds, do I need to run them through my sizing die before I reload them with a different powder charge?
- If I don't have to pull the primers, run them through the sizing die, re-prime, etc - it would save a lot of time, but I want to be safe of course as well

2. If I want to try CCI 250 primers in my 264 win mag load (currently running federal 215m), can I use the same powder charge that worked well with the 215m's? Or do I need to back off?

- wasn't sure if CCI/215m primers are known for one running hotter than the other? or?

Thanks for the help!

Pull a bullet or two and see what kind of neck tension you still have on the brass. If it's still acceptable no need to resize the brass necessarily. If you do infact need to resize the brass remove your decapping pin so you don't remove the primers. I have pulled many bullets and reloaded without resizing.

I've never used an inertia puller. I have the collet style puller from Forster I believe. It's reallyeasy to use. Doesn't make a mess. And with practice it doesn't harm the bullets.

Joe