Help with picking the right bullet PLEASE

wv270wsm

Hello I'm fairly new to lrh . My problem is that I have a Winchester model 70 Featherlite 270 wsm and I have yet to find a bullet that it doesn't like. I know horrible right . I plan on using this gun to elk and mule deer hunt with hopefully next season in Colorado if everything goes right . I've been loading and playing with the 140 accubonds getting 3000 fps with only 20 fps deviation per my chronograph with a rough 1/2 group when I do my part . I've also been shooting the 130 gr Hornadys getting 3200 fps with almost the same groups. I guess what I'm looking for is which bullet would yall go with ? Both are shooting very well for me and I'm getting good velocity although I believe I can push the accubonds a little more but don't believe I need to I'm no where near max on either bullet. Or should I push both a bit and see if that would be a determining factor as far as being able to get the most range? As long as accuracy doesn't suffer.

I would take the 140 gr Accubonds of the two you've listed, I was running them 3350 fps and bunched up a number of elk then switched to the Berger 140's and never looked back. Any 270 I build now will be built around the 165 Matrix or 170 Berger which put a significant whoopn on an elk!!!

I would take the 140 gr Accubonds of the two you've listed, I was running them 3350 fps and bunched up a number of elk then switched to the Berger 140's and never looked back. Any 270 I build now will be built around the 165 Matrix or 170 Berger which put a significant whoopn on an elk!!!

Listen to this post...much experience...

I would pick the Accubond over the Hornady. It will hold together much better and thus will retain weight and penetrate deeper.