Help with grouping

ml williford

Hello, I'm looking for someone to help me with a problem I have. I have a Remington 700 Sendero 300 WM with a heavy barrel that will not hold a group. I've checked the float on barrel, all things with the optics and use hand loads. All different loads to see if that might be an issue. I'm not a beginner but I'm not a sniper either. I consider myself a good shot out to 500 yards and also have this type of gun in the 25-06 caliber that I love. It groups MOA under .5 at 400 yards so I know the gun issue is not me and I've even used a gun vise to make sure I'm not moving or jerking. Trigger set to 2.5 lbs. so there is no trigger issue either.

Any suggestions on things to check? This is the first magnum that I've owned. My hunting buddy's worry that the guns I use are not enough for the Mule deer hunting I have started doing. I realize the 25-06 is on the small side but I've always thought that bullet placement is more important than big bullet. I'm not willing to buy another big gun to just try and see if it will solve the problem. No person I've talked to has given me any help that has worked.

Thanks in Advance
ML Williford
Deer park, TX

I would start by switching over to the scope that's on your 25-06 and see if its the scope. Then I would check bedding, crown, action screw torque, etc etc. What are your loads you tried? Bullet, powder, etc.

"My hunting buddy's worry that the guns I use are not enough for the Mule deer hunting I have started doing."

Your buddies lack experience. I know a couple guys who hunt elk with .25 caliber. One uses a .25-06 and the other uses a .25-06 AI. They used Barnes TTSX 100 grainers quite successfully for the last few years. As far as I know they hunt bulls only.