Help with 300 win mag & Nosler Accubonds

excaliber

Newbie here,
Great site!!! I've been reading quite a bit lately on reloading here. I need some help with my new 300 Win Mag.
I have a Rem 700BDL 300 Win Mag 26" barrel with a Leupold 4.5x14x40 CDS on it and am wanting to reload for it. I want to hunt with Nosler Accubonds (180 gr)since a few people I know really like them.

I broke the gun in with cheap Federal Speer SP rounds(2960 fps) and the gun shot them well with really tight groups and bullets almost in the same holes at 100 yards and the close to the same at 200 yards off the lead sled so I know the gun shoots straight. All was well or so I thought until.........

I broke out the Double Tap Accubonds loaded at 3050fps and they were all over the place. They wouldn't group at all.
I don't have a chrono yet so the listed speeds are off the box.

I've heard some 300's don't like the Accubonds. I was planning to start with the Accubonds and Win Brass, some H4831sc, IMR4831 or some RL22 with Fed 215 mag primers. Now I'm second guessing the Accubonds.

I'm not sure what powder Federal and Doubletap loads but I hope to find something the gun likes.

I'm just looking for some ideas on what the gun didn't like?

Was the load Too fast?
I'm thinking with the 26" barrel it was faster than listed speed and that could be the problem.

Any ideas?

My go to load in several 300 win's has been a 180 gr accubond with RL25, fed 215 primer, running 3100 fps with a 26 inch barrel. Be careful with lead sleds they are very hard on scopes and rifles. I would not use one

The Speers with the SP and flat base tend to be forgiving and shoot well in many guns. They are also a fairly good hunting round all things considered. The issue of course is when you want to stretch things out or want a heavier construction.