Help a beginner

olson

I am new to the sport of long range shooting and would like some advice on the most suitable choice of long range calibers. I am thinking about building a 6.5-06 or a 6.5-284. Though i have little experience i do not know which one would be the optimum rifle for long range, or if i should look at another caliber.

Do you have another rifle? You need to practice and gain real world expeience. The short barrel life on either of those calibers won't let you practice much before needing a new barrel. But for long range capabilities, awsome ballistics and low recoil, the 6.5x284 is hard to beat.

For a first rifle, get a fast twist .223 to shoot 70gr+ VLDs or a .308 Winchester. Then get a 6.5-284, will make a good combo

I rate the 6.5x284 over the 6.5-06 because of awsome lapua brass, more info and load data and it's a proven 1000yrd round.

Hello Olson,
Welcome to LRH.com and the addiction!:cool: There are many things to consider when trying to build a long range rig. From you caliber choices a custom or semi custom rifle is your best bet. You can buy the 6.5x284 from Savage as a factory rifle.

However I have to agree with Oliveralan. He speaks the truth that both are barrel burners. With either cartridge you are looking at a life expectancy of 800 to 1000rnds. of accurate firing. Maybe less depending on barrel care and potency of your loads. I also agree with his caliber selections for learning on as well. Both calibers will force you to learn how to read the wind and learn elevation dope.