Hello from Scotland

sp_thompson

Hello!

I've been reading posts and articles on here and thought it was probably time I joined, as looking at getting a new (to me calibre) of .280AI and will be needing some advice I would expect.

I'm a professional deer stalker here in Scotland, which is essentially what you'd call a guide in all other parts of the world, and work predominately with red deer in the more mountainous areas of the Highlands (photo below) and also a little with Sika deer in the forest. Enjoy my long range shooting and always looking to learn.

Thanks,

Sam

Attachments

Last edited:

djfergus

Welcome Sam! I haven't owned a 280ai but I have loaded for multiple cartridges of 7mm. I think it will make great rifle for you. Great bullet selections from 160-180gr in Berger & Hornady among others. That weight range of bullets in the 280ai should be more than adequate for what you will be hunting.

jmcmath

Welcome, I did a sort of pilgrimage to Scotland a few years ago and got to catch a beautiful brown trout in invergarry. Would love to go back stalking, gorgeous land.

Eatonc

Welcome! I’ve always wanted to goto Scotland so very jealous of you. I haven’t done anything with 280AI but it is a great round. Good luck with it!

djfergus

Sam, I'm sure there will be more folks posting who has experience with the 280AI. I would guess that RL26 would be a great choice for powder in that cartridge with 160-180 bullets if you can get your hands on some RL26. I personally like the 180eldm. But like I said earlier, there's many great bullet choices in 7mm

Warrenoliver

Hello!

I've been reading posts and articles on here and thought it was probably time I joined, as looking at getting a new (to me calibre) of .280AI and will be needing some advice I would expect.