Hello everyone, new to long range shooting

dstewart51

Long time shooter (since childhood) but most of my adult life I have been a hand gun guy. Mostly big bore hand cannons used for hunting, 44Mag, 454Casull, 475Linebaugh. About 6 months ago I bought a Marlin 1895GS 45-70Gov. I love it! The short little guide gun was my first long rifle purchase. I have always been fascinated with accuracy and often times shoot my scoped handguns at 100 yards or more at the local rifle range. Once I started shooting the Marlin it was like cheating (and its not exactly what you would call a long range rifle).

Being I love a big boom and long range fascinates me I have always wanted a "real" long range rifle. For years now I had the thought of buying a Weatherby 338-378, but it never came to be. Over the past few months I have been eying the 338 Lapua. The cost of many custom 338LM rifles put me off however. Recently I became aware of the reasonably priced Savage 110FCP and I had to have one.

I called my local gun shop one day to ask about price and ETA. About a week later after not hearing back I decided to stop by and chat with the owner. I asked him if he ever got a price for me. He said "Not only do I have a price, I got the rifle in the back". Turns out another guy ordered one and when it came in he didn't want it. So I picked it up, that was about two weeks ago.

Savage110FCP_338_Lapua.jpg

Since that time I have wasted countless hours reading and researching everything 338 Lapua and Savage 110FCP related. Spending many hours on Snipers Hide and here. So I thought I would register and say hey.

I have been reloading for handguns for years, but I'm quickly learning there is a few extra things to measure and take in to consideration with Rifles. I do not intend to hunt with the 338LM at any point in the near future, just target and learn how to shoot long range (1000+ meters).