Having trouble with ballistic apps

volunteerbee

Ok guys and gals! I'm fairly new at this. I've been shooting long range for almost a year now and I've started playing around with the 6.5x284 Norma. I have a factory rifle. Savage 111 LRH. I'm currently shooting factory loads but plan on reloading it in the near future. I'm shooting HSM loaded with 140gr Berger hunting VLD's. All the ballistic apps I've tried are off on the call for 500-650 yds and 800-900 yds. All my rifle information is entered correctly and I chronographed the ammo so I know it's all correct. The apps call for 8.5-9 MOA at 550yds but it's actually 6.75MOA. Just an example. It's also good out to 1275yds. There's just a small window where it's off. Any ideas or help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

In these situations it's always going to be the information is messed up somehow.

However before the masses come down, you might as well add what ballistic solver you are using and what kind of chrono, how you are acquiring your ranges, which drag model you are using, which doesn't matter quite yet but it might later, and if you trued anything yet.

Thanks for the reply. I'm using the Hornady 4DOF app as it seems to be the closest one overall to matching my flight trajectory. I'm using the native drag model for the 140gr Berger VLD hunting bullet in g7. I'm getting my ranges from my Nikon 4K. I'm getting the weather readings in real time including altitude. Chronograph is a magnotech 5 shot average. I'm not sure I know exactly sure I know what your asking for when you ask about truing anything. If your referring to the action then no I haven't. Only thing extra that was done was I did lap the rings. I haven't completely ruled out the optics but I really don't think that's an issue. I'm running a crimson trace series 2 6x24x56. I'm just at a loss as to how it can be correct at 1200 yds and be that bad off at 550.