Gunsmiths

Greg Duerr

I have received several PM from guys that have had bad experiences with reputable Smiths in the Past, I know Im one of them.
Three years ago I hired a Smith, I wont mention his name, who was to build me a Rifle. Many other guys on this sight have used him. I was told that my Rifle would be done in 6 months, which was perfect as four months after I was suppose to receive my Rifle I had an Antelope Tag that I had been putting in for Seven Years. Six months came and went still no rifle. One month before the season I called and was told that the Barrel still had not come in so I called the barrel company and was told that HE had no outstanding orders. Another call and I was told that he and another Smith waited until they had enough orders to received the big discount for multiple barrels. He hoped It would be in soon. I received the Rifle three months later after the season of which I had to borrow a rifle. Finally but my wait was just starting. After over 300 rounds fired with different kinds of Power and Bullets it would not shoot Boat-tail bullets come to find out the reasmer was the first one he bought years and years ago............The throut was wide. So now Im spending another $1000 to have it done right.....Total cost over $3000

You want a good Smith ask a lot of People and get a lot of Referances from the Smith...................................I have a good friend who sent a good smith an action and stock and the $$$ One year later he had not started the project .................six months later still no RIfle. Clint got a little ****ed at him and now three years later.......................???

Dang sorry to hear that, I feel pretty fortunate the smith who built my rifle is only 16 miles from my house, does awesome work and gets it done in the time frame he gives me.

I guess we are just lucky, John Whidden is only about an hour away. He has built 3 rifles for me so far and all shoot less than .5 moa.

Randygun)