Greetings from New Mexico

92stroker

Hello LRH!

I am new to the world of long range, and really rifling in general. I've been around guns my whole life, and shot plenty of rifles, but until recently, I've only owned hand guns. At any rate, I have been lurking this forum since I first acquired my rifle a couple months back, and decided it was time to register, introduce myself, and start asking questions.

So on to the guns, and intent!

I had told some of the guys at work that I wanted to start hunting, and was looking for something in the .30 caliber flavor. One of our customers got wind and mentioned that he had a rifle for sale. It turned out to be a brand new Savage 111 Hunter XP, chambered in .300 win mag. That was a bit more than I was looking for, but the price was right, and my boss agreed to let my broker it through the shop, via my employee layaway. So for $300 (retail was $525) @ $40/month, I walked away with my first long arm, plus 40 rounds of ammo to sweeten the deal. Not bad!

My second rifle, came a couple weeks later, when one of the guys at work wanted to get in to archery. I told him I had a really nice old re-curve that I might consider letting go. Well, he like the bow, and we worked out a trade for an immaculate Browning SA-22, which turned out to be a real sweet heart.

I plan to use my .300 for hunting, long range target shooting, and after reading about it on this forum, maybe practicle rifle competitions (when my skills develop a little more). The .22 is for plinking and "training." I also taught my little girl (7) how to shoot for the first time with the .22!

So I have been shooting the .300 at our local city range, zeroing, changing, re-zeroing, changing some more, etc. Things are going pretty well so far, and I'm pretty happy with the rifle.