Good Bullet for AR-15 for saving pets!

Reesetd

Hiah, sorry for the newby question.

Im sure this has been discussed alot but since im new to the form I have not found out how to use the serch here as of yet... I have a new upper coming in some day (3months ago it was order) from rockriver 20in vermit with a 1in8 twist.
Today I when into the local gun shop and was told many things from many ppl and am now confused as to what bullet would do good on a yote but still keep the pelts in good shape. One said to use a 55grain v max, another was to push the 40 vmax fast and hard to disenigrat in the yote.... so what is it bigger and slower or small and fast?

Thanks Reesetd

ROFLMAO **** cant edit the Title pelts kinda missed the L

Last edited:
lathe turned solids:) m855 is pretty clean from my expiriences with yotes here in vegas. Clean entry and clean exit. I'd find the tuffest bullet you can find with no expansion or fragmentation, yotes are not hard to kill you don't need a violent bullet.

Re: Good Bullet for AR-15 for saving pelts!

K thanks so much for the info, guess I have some 40 gr v max to plink with.. was not able to make it out of the gun shop with out some bullets since thy did have the powder that I wanted and I already have the brass and primers.

I am using 50-vmax in both my AR's right @ 3300 fps on the Vel.
I never get any Pass-Threw on the coyotes I shoot. The bullets pretty much do disintegrate before they pass-threw and the coyote pretty much fold and fall there.
Only time I ever really ripped one up bad was when I had one run-up right on me and stop right in front of me in my sit. The shot was no more than 20 yards and the V-max totally F-ed him up pretty severer for any descent Pelt salvage.
I used sierra match kings once because I get really nice accuracy with them. I really got sever bullet hole pass-threw with a big wound channel using them. SMK jackets must be pretty tough.

dogdinger
user_offline.gif

Find Me on the Map Join Date: Dec 2007